Site

Buy

I’m going to a lot of shows in March! Specifically: They Might Be Giants/Jonathan Coulton @ Workplay on March 4th, Madeline @ the Fire House on March 5th, Man or Astro-Man? @ the Bottletree on March 6th, Math the Band @ the Fire House on March 13th, and hopefully Spoon/Deerhunter @ Workplay Soundstage on March 19. All in Birmingham. If you see me say hi; we’ll go get dinner at the Golden Temple or my friend’s awesome Indian restaurant across from the Mellow Mushroom. Note to those in Birmingham: find this place and try it; it’s directly across the street from the Mellow Mushroom, and it’s soooo good. The name escapes me right now, it’s in Five Points though. Okay, I’m rambling…

With all of that said, I wanted to post an album by all of the bands I’m seeing next month. I’ve already posted They Might Be Giants (not Coulton though, I’ll get on it), so onto Madeline! Madeline I believe started as an acoustic singer-songwriter and has now evolved into an indie-folk project based from Athens, GA. This album features a full band with a nice mix of southern charm, Elephant Six influence, and a folk-y style. No element overtakes another part which leads to gorgeous songs. The songs are low-key and relaxing, and this sort of instrumentation works well with Madeline’s unique voice. I highly recommend this album, and I can’t wait to see her.

